Big 12 title games to stay at home to the Cowboys by 2025

Arlington, Texas (AP) — The Big 12 championship game will be home to the Dallas Cowboys until at least 2025, the season after Texas and Oklahoma are set to head to the Southeastern Conference.

The contract extension, announced Wednesday, means the first nine games since the return of the Big 12 title game in 2017 will take place at the 80,000-seat AT&T Stadium. The announcement came during Commissioner Brett Yourmark’s first official week on the job.

The Big 12 did not have a championship game from 2011–16, after the league was reduced to 10 teams. Conference brought back the title game despite its round-robin regular-season schedule, believing that the extra games would help bring the league champions to the college football playoffs.

If Texas and Oklahoma don’t make it to the SEC early, the Big 12 is set to feature 14 teams for two seasons in 2023–24, with the addition of Cincinnati, Houston, BYU and UCF.

The Big 12 may expand again, with uncertainty surrounding the Pac-12 following the defection of Southern California and UCLA to the Big Ten. Those schools are set to switch in 2024.

Following the introduction of the Big 12 in 1996, the first 13 championship games were rotated with the home stadiums of the Kansas City Chiefs, Houston Texans and St. Louis Rams, the Cowboys’ former home in the Dallas suburb of Irving.

AT&T Stadium has been the only site for the title game since 2009, an arrangement similar to the Big 12 basketball tournament and its Kansas City, Missouri, home. The men’s and women’s tournaments have been in Kansas City since 2010 and will last until at least 2027.


More AP College Football: More, Sign up for the AP College Football newsletter: